Skip to content

British Tenor. Everybody go [sigh].

August 26, 2010

So I have these terrific roomies who get all excited about music too. Today one of them suddenly had to put on Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto no. 2 and did so with a little yelp of delight.

Earlier this week she asked if I knew Ian Bostridge, and we knew we were friends. I asked if she knew John Mark Ainsley. And then I showed her. Truthfully, I would have liked to post “Comfort Ye.” But the only one of John Mark on YouTube has some half-dressed guy (I don’t think it’s Ainsley) doing what I presume is a funky John the Baptist routine, and I was afraid it would be too distracting. If you’re really interested, then knock yourself out. That said, I’m not sure the video here is that much less distracting, but it is definitely a favorite from Messiah as well, and up it goes.

Don’t you love the honey smoothness, the pathos, and the balance of control wielded for expression?? The main aria begins at 2:06.

And because it is another great music post and the original “each one … goes [sigh],” here is the classic Jobim as well. This is the uncut version with both João Gilberto and Astrud Gilberto, and in case you like a warning: there are a couple of bikini photos in the video.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Vaughn permalink
    January 17, 2011 10:32 am

    smooth… and shrouded.

    I think it is him singing and playing John the Baptist in the other one…

Leave a Reply

