Skip to content

More Than Words

October 18, 2010

That’s what this song does for me. I’ve got memories of it stretching back into childhood such as experiencing green romances, feeling so proud of my brother for performing it so well, and hearing it with delighted relief from an unknown house in Brazil one day when what I craved more than anything was the comfort of the familiar.

And as I was clumsily juggling my stress this evening, somewhere between replying to an email and writing down a library call number, this song shuffled on. Like that day in Brazil and so many other times, it was just what I needed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 3:16 am

    I’m with you there. This song does it for me too.

  2. Vaughn permalink
    January 17, 2011 11:05 am

    For me, when I was in Ecuador, it was “Complicated” by Avril Lavigne (sp?) that I heard coming from a cane shack on the last row of shacks on the outskirts of town. I stopped walking and told my companion, “I LOVE THIS SONG!!!” I don’t really, and I have never sought out any of her music (in fact I usually change the station), but the song was familiar and I was a momentary fan.

Leave a Reply

