Skip to content

Cop out

February 24, 2011

So just hours after my last post, something very significant happened to me and to my family, and since then it’s felt more or less nonstop. But instead of writing about my sister’s engagement, a family funeral, or a birthday, instead of writing about traveling internationally, seeing the Northern Lights, my brother’s greatest new track victory, terrific friends, good times with family, singing nerves, exotic food, my mad record-breaking paper-writing skills, the frustration of selling my car, getting a new opportunity at work, or my latest musings on the mid-singles crisis—all of which have been completely relevant in the past 18 days—let me just say this:

In that same amount of time I have managed to melt my hair dryer, my curling iron, a boot, cotton balls, and their packaging. Two separate incidents, one in NYC, and one in Iceland. No fire insurance. It’s a wonder my apartment or at least my room or at least the cardboard box holding various toiletries didn’t burn baby.

I’m also pleased that I didn’t fry my hair on European voltage. Since my first day in England I have learned never to start foreign curling situations with the hair by one’s face. It broke right off—crispy, barbecued, and not even European stylish. This time I only had crunchy brown cotton balls, like a marshmallow roast.

God loves me, and I got a new gold-plated curling iron with free shipping on Amazon Prime.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Vaughn permalink
    February 24, 2011 11:24 pm

    Well, during those 18 days, I have successfully witnessed those things from afar, successfully avoided learning many things I should have during this last rotation, AND bought a textbook on Amazon. No free shipping.

    I also got a really nice compliment today when my resident told me that my two attending physicians for the month both thought that I “shined above your peers, so you’ll probably have some good evaluations from them.” That made me feel good, since Neurology has always been difficult for me and one of my classmates who was with me this month is a smart cookie.

    Now, though, the night before my two 2.5-hour exams, I’m thinking, “If I can only pass these tests…”

  2. February 24, 2011 11:28 pm

    Are you signed up for the Amazon student rate? It’s a beautiful thing.

    So glad you get to go home soon, and yes, that IS a nice compliment. I’ll pray for you with your tests.

    Also, I’m tossing around the idea of bringing my car to you and Jenni to use until I can sell it. Do you know anyone there who would be interested?

  3. February 26, 2011 10:52 am

    From the list of safety instructions accompanying my new curling iron:

    #6: Never use while sleeping.

  4. Kit permalink
    February 27, 2011 12:10 am

    The sleeping thing shouldn’t be problem, because you “don’t move” when you’re asleep 😉

Leave a Reply

