Skip to content

To Lucasta, going beyond the Seas

November 14, 2011
tags:
 IF to be absent were to be
        Away from thee;
      Or that when I am gone
      You or I were alone;
    Then, my Lucasta, might I crave          5
Pity from blustering wind or swallowing wave.
    But I’ll not sigh one blast or gale
        To swell my sail,
      Or pay a tear to ‘suage
      The foaming blue god’s rage;   10
    For whether he will let me pass
Or no, I’m still as happy as I was.
    Though seas and land betwixt us both,
        Our faith and troth,
      Like separated souls,   15
      All time and space controls:
    Above the highest sphere we meet
Unseen, unknown; and greet as Angels greet.
    So then we do anticipate
        Our after-fate,   20
      And are alive i’ the skies,
      If thus our lips and eyes
    Can speak like spirits unconfined
In Heaven, their earthy bodies left behind.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

